Importance Dates of History of Himachal Pradesh

630 A.D. – Battle between Bilaspur and Handur.
1009 A.D. – Mahmood Gazani attacked Kangra fort.
1365 A.D. – Feroz Ahah Tughlaq attacked Jwalamukhi.
1620 A.D. – Jahangir captured Kangra.
1686 A.D. – The battle of Bhangani between the raja of Bilaspur Bhim Chand, his relative Raja Fateh Shah and Guru Gobind Singh. Guru Gobind Singh emerged victorious.
1783 A.D. – Raja Sansar Chand captured the Kangra fort, after the death of Mugal Sardar Saif Ali Khan.
1786 A.D. – The battle of Nerti Shahpur.
1805 A.D. – Under the leadership of Amar Singh Thapa, Gorkhas garrisoned Kangra fort, which was lifted after Gorkhas defeat in the hands of Raja Ranjit Singh.
1809 A.D. – Raja Ranjit Singh captured Kangra and appointed Dessa Singh Majithia as governor of the Kangra.
1814-15 A.D. – Anglo-Gorkha was (British established their sovereignty on the Shimla hill states).
1846 A.D. – Anglo-Sikh treaty after this Kangra came under the control of the British.
1857 A.D. – Jutogh Revolt under the leadership of Bhim Singh.
1876 A.D. – Handur (Nalagarh) people revolted against the misdeeds of Wazir Ghulam Quadir Khan.
1883 A.D. – Jugga movement in Bilaspur
1895 A.D. – Bhatiyat People's movement
1909-10 A.D. – Mandi Agitation
1930 A.D. – Dandra movement against the maladministration of princely ruler and state officials.
1938 A.D. – All India State people's conference took place in Ludhina, which led to the formation of Shimla Hill states Himachal Riyasti Prajamandal.
16th July 1939 – Dhami Firing Tragedy.
1942 A.D. – Pajotha movement in Sirmaur state.
8-10 March 1946 – Mandi conference.
26 January 1948 – Provisional government was set up in Himachal Pradesh.
26-28 January 1948 – Solan conference.
18 February 1948 – Suket Satyagraha.
15 April 1948 – Himachal Pradesh was founded.
1st March 1952 – Chief-commissioner was replaced by Lt. Governor.
24th March 1952 – First Vidhan Sabha was constituted and popular ministry sworn in.
1st july 1954 – Bilaspur was merged with Himachal Pradesh as a fifth district.
1st November 1956 – Populargovernment removed and Himachal Pradesh was made a union Territory.
15 August 1957 – Territorial Council was set up and thakur Karam Singh was elected its chairman.
1st July 1963 – Territorial Council was converted into Vidhan Sabha and Popular government was restored.
1st November 1966 – Punjab reorganized and Kangra hill state were transferred to Himachal Pradesh got its present status.
25th January 1971 – Himachal Pradesh become the 18th state of Indian union.
1971 A.D. – H.P. University Shimla, Shimla High court and H.P. Public Service commission was formed.
1st September 1972 – Kangra district was reorganized.
1977 A.D. – First non Congress government was formed, under the leadership of Sh. Shanta Kumar.
1978 A.D. – Agriculture University Palampur was founded.
1985 A.D. – Dr. Y.S. Parmar University of Horiculture and forestry was founded.
1998 A.D. – Himachal Pradesh Subordinate Services Selection Board was set up at Hamirpur.

Related Articles

Mahatma Gandhi's Visits to Shimla

Mahatma Gandhi made several visits to Shimla in the era of struggle for freedom. He met viceroys on various issues and participated in various meetings in Shimla.

Formation of Himachal Pradesh as a State

If you are looking for school essays on the formation of Himachal Pradesh, you are in the right place. Himachal Pradesh was recognized as a full fledged state on January 25th, 1971. Earlier it remained as the union territory of the nation.

More articles: Himachal History


No responses found. Be the first to comment...

  • Do not include your name, "with regards" etc in the comment. Write detailed comment, relevant to the topic.
  • No HTML formatting and links to other web sites are allowed.
  • This is a strictly moderated site. Absolutely no spam allowed.
  • Name: